Club Standard Awards

New Standards tables effective from 2015

What's New?

At the end of 2014 season, your club committee (and in particular Iain Hampson), have been working hard to update and extend our very popular club standards tables. 

It was apparent that there were a few quirks in the old tables, as well as the times to achieve a standard for very popular local races were not always easily calculated, as they were "non-standard" distances. This has been rectified by Iain by adding standards for such specific local events. 

Furthermore, we have decided that the age groups should be extended to include one more age bracket for male and females. 

The new tables also make it much easier to follow for a particular athlete, as each age group, and sex, has its own page. These are listed on the "Club Standard Tables" tab. 

The Club Standards – What Are They?


At Warrington Triathlon Club, we recognise that most club triathletes do not enter races with the intention or likelihood of winning, or podium finishes, as nice as that would be!

In fact, we believe that all members should be rewarded for their best efforts. The club includes male and female members of wide-ranging experience, ability and age groups. 


The Club Standards were the brainchild of the founding members of the club. They were devised to give members personal challenges and the motivation to produce their own best performances, with the reward of a Club Standard.  It also motivates people to enter races or events they might not otherwise have considered but may lead to them achieving the desired standard for the year.


At the end-of-season awards night, all members who have achieved a club standard in that year are rewarded with their own appropriate engraved medal.



How Do I Achieve A Club Standard Award?



There are now eight separate tables of standards covering males and females of all ages.

These are:


Male Open:                         under 40 years old

Male 40+:                           40 years to 49 years old

Male50+:                            50 years to 59 years old

Male60+:                            60 years and above

Female Open:                    under 35 years old

Female 35+:                       35 to 44 years old

Female 45+:                       45 years to 54 years old

Female 55+                                         55 years and above


  • 1)   Select the appropriate table for your sex and age. (Your age is defined under British Triathlon Rules as your age on 31 December of the current year).

  • 2)   Achieve a minimum of THREE standards in ONE year, all of which must be DIFFERENT race types as defined by the tables. Also, ONE of the standards must be a multi-sport event (i.e: any triathlon, aquathlon or duathlon).

  • 3)   If only three standards are achieved, the club standard awarded will be the LOWEST standard of those three achieved.

  • 4)   If more than three standards are achieved, only your best three results will count, but again they must be of three different race types, and the award will be the lowest standard of your best three.


To ensure you get your award, you must send your results promptly to the club for them to be verified and included in the regularly updated season’s results tables.



Club Standard Assignment


The assigned club standards for each race are based on the "normal" distances, as detailed on the club standard tables. As more races, particularly triathlons, have "non-standard" distances for one or more of the legs the split time(s) for those legs will be adjusted to bring it in line with the normal distances. For the example of a pool sprint triathlon, a swim that is only 400m will be adjusted up to a time for 500m. For a bike leg that is 24km it will be adjusted down to 20km and so on. This is to ensure fairness and consistency with the awards.

Ideally, if transition times are given these are not altered. However, if any non-standard leg also includes a transition time then the transition time part would also unfortunately be adjusted. This will not usually make a difference to the standard awarded. However if such an adjustment leaves a time only seconds from the next standard then a decision will be made as to whether to award the higher standard.